Doomsday Book

by Connie Willis






Doomsday Book

by Connie Willis




Connie Willis





About the Book


Doomsday Book is part science fiction, part historical fiction, and all adventure. Willis’ tale moves back and forth from 20th century England, where scholars and scientists at an unnamed university struggle to rescue a student who has time-traveled back to 14th century England, where the threat of bubonic plague is only one of the dangers that confront her. Meanwhile, back in the 20th century, a modern day scourge impairs the efforts of those trying to rescue her. Doomsday Book won the Hugo Award, Nebula Award, and Locus Award for best science fiction / fantasy novel of 1992-1993. 


About the Author


Connie Willis is the author of more than ten science fiction novels and five short story collections, and is the editor of three books. She has earned six Nebula Awards and nine Hugo Awards, more than any other author. Her 1997 time travel novel To Say Nothing of the Dog is a sequel to Doomsday Book. Her other novels include Passage and Bellwether.




Author Presentations

Connie Willis spoke at the Batavia Public Library, March 20, 2008, as the featured speaker at Books Between Bites at 12 noon. She gave a community-wide presentation at Batavia High School at 7 p.m.

The Middle Ages at the Library

The Fox Valley chapter of the Society for Creative Anachronism provided a glimpse of the Middle Ages. This day-long event included displays, demonstrations, and discussions of various activities and aspects of life in the Middle Ages, especially the period of the Black Death, which is one of the settings of Doomsday Book.


Book DiscussionDoomsday Book by Connie Willis


Batavia High School's Advanced Placement English and World Literature Class created a discussion guide to Doomsday Book.

One Book One Batavia 2008 was presented by the Batavia Public Library, in cooperation with Batavia High School. The Friends of the Batavia Public Library co-sponsored One Book, One Batavia 2008.